2016 APSEA awards open for submission

By on 16 May, 2016
Photograph by Chris Hopkins

The APSEA awards night at Locate16. Photograph by Chris Hopkins


Now is the time to start reflecting on the proudest achievements and the most impressive projects of the last twelve months. The Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards (APSEA) celebrate achievements of the spatial industry and showcase the finest projects and most significant performance of professionals that the Spatial Industry has to offer.  Projects and individuals attaining recognition at this premier event are deemed to be outstanding achievers and pre-eminent in their field. Online entries are invited for both industry and individuals via the APSEA website.

Winners of the State and Territory awards go on to represent their State or Territory in their category at the Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards held during the national Locate Conference in April.

The nominations for APSEA have officially opened across ten regions, including every Australian state and territory, as well as New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. There are twelve award categories, open to both organisations (Industy Awards) and individuals (Individual Awards):


Industry Awards:

  • Award for Environment and Sustainability
  • Award for Export
  • Award for Innovation and Commercialisation
  • Award for People and Community
  • Award for Spatial Enablement
  • Award for Technical Excellence 5551

Individual Awards:

  • Education Development Award
  • Postgraduate Student Award
  • Professional of the Year Award
  • Special Achievement Award
  • Undergraduate Student Award
  • Young Professional of the Year Award


Each submission must be made via the APSEA Awards website where entrants will be required to answer specific criteria for each chosen category.

If unsure which categories apply to your projects, SIBA and SSSI have prepared a document detailing the specific criteria of each category and the entry and judging processes.


Each region manages their own awards, so there are different closing dates for each of the regions, with the following announced so far:

New Zealand: Closing date 19 August, Winners announced 16 September

New South Wales: Closing date 19 August, Winners announced 17 September

Queensland: Closing date 5 August, Winners announced 2 September

South Australia: Closing date 22 July, Winners announced 19 August

Tasmania: Closing date 29 July, Winners announced 26 August

Victoria: Closing date 5 August, Winners announced 7 September

Western Australia:  7 October, Winners announced 11 November


To enter, please visit the APSEA Awards website.


You may also like to read:

, , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply


Sign up now to stay up to date about all the news from Spatial Source. You will get a newsletter every week with the latest news.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
New basemap options coming for NSW
DCS Spatial Services is releasing new basemaps with a range ...
Vendor focus: Anditi
In the lead up to Locate22 in May, we’re highlighting some...
Make sure you don’t miss Locate22
Here’s a preview of what you’ll see, learn and experienc...
CASA drafts 10-year safety roadmap for drones
The roadmap aims to provide a plan to integrate drones into ...
Maxar invests in analytics firm, Blackshark.ai
The investment will enable Maxar to bring more 3D capabiliti...